‘… wrongly judged, made fun of, & badly criticized by society’


Surasma Lamichhane

Disability is a condition judged to be significantly impaired relative to the usual standard of an individual or group.

According to The Disability Discrimination Act (DDA), People who are born with physical or mental impairment are known to be disabled people. Disabled people are also called handicapped people. Some of them are physically born handicapped whereas some others aren’t.

The 2011 Census Report of Nepal (CRN) has classified disability into seven distinct groups:

  1. Physical disability
  2. Vision-related disability
  3. Hearing-related disability
  4. Deaf-Blind
  5. Voice and speech-related disability
  6. Mental Disability
  7. Multiple disabilities

Some of the disabled people are wrongly judged, made fun of, and they are badly criticized by society. They are considered as burdens or waste of space by their own families as well. But every single one of them has a beautiful soul and disabled people are very smart and talented. Disabled people are stronger in many ways as they have to work harder to achieve their goals.

According to the definition and classification of disability, 2063, the disability identity card has been classified into four parts on the basis of seriousness. Each identity card is given a different color and the person with a disability who comes to get the identity card is given an identity card deemed appropriate according to the severity of the disability. Provision has been made to provide such identity card in red for persons belonging to category ‘क’, in blue for category ‘ख’, in yellow for category ‘ग’ and in white for category ‘ध’.

Disabled people should be more prioritized and empowered. Schools, Vehicles, Temples, Hospitals, and other places should also be disabled people friendly.

Article 18 of the constitution states that:
Equality: (1) It will be the same in the eyes of the sovereign law
Crosses will be deprived of equal protection of the law
(2) Origin, religion, forest, caste, caste,
Pregnancy, economic status, phytrakshetra, ideological affair, etc.
There will be no discrimination on any basis!

There are different national policies made for disabled people in our country. Some of them are listed below:

  1. The 1971 Education Act extended this right to ensure that disabled children also had the right to free education.
  2. in 1971, the Special National Council (MoE) was established to facilitate special education programs in the country while 1982 Disabled and Welfare Act of Nepal worked to promote and protect the rights to equality and free education for a disabled person
  3. Regulation No. 5 of 1982 Disabled and Welfare Act of Nepal has advocated the right to equality stating that there should not be any discrimination against the disabled with respect to their physical status.
  4. The Children’s Act (1992), which identifies the rights of the child to survival, protection, and development.
  5. the Special Education Policy (1996) and the Local Self-Governance Act (1999) enabled the creation of educational environments to educate the disabled.
  6. The Ninth Five-Year Plan (1997-2002) defined disability and rehabilitation issues associated with the Ministries of Health, Education, Child Development, and Social Welfare.
  7. The Tenth Five-Year Plan (2002-2007) aims to provide equal rights and a barrier-free environment for the development of the disabled.

If you want to publish anything, we welcome you with a smile. Just remember nepalnamcha@gmail.com for it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

सम्बन्धित समाचार

Back to top button